It’s a pleasure to revisit Jubileon with their latest offering, the Superellipse Chrono. After the success of the original Superellipse on Kickstarter in 2017, the team has been hard at work on this chronograph version.

Jubileon is based in Singapore and was founded in 2015, Singapore’s Golden Jubilee year, giving the brand its name. In 2016 Alvin Lew joined the team. You may recognise Alvin’s name as a regular contributor to MBWW.

The Superellipse Chrono keeps several design elements from the original version, the iconic cushion shape, the four corner screws and the 3 layer construction. The main difference is clearly the chronograph feature and the internal rotating bezel. The hand set has also been updated with obelisks replacing the dauphine hands of the original. A detail that is often overlooked in microbrands is hand length, where the minute and/or second hand don’t reach the index. This can make a watch harder to read at a glance. Thankfully this detail was not missed on the Superellipse Chrono!

Another feature you’ll notice is the seconds sub dial which uses a windowed disk instead of a hand. I quite like this as gives the watch a point of difference from other chronographs. It may not be as immediately legible as a hand but it does give the dial a quirky charm. But if it’s not for you, it looks like a hand option is being offered too.

article continues after ad

Technical Specifications:

  • Movement: Swiss ETA Valjoux 7750 Automatic
  • Diameter: 42mm
  • Lug to Lug : 51mm
  • Crown to Crown : 49mm
  • Lug width: 22mm
  • Crystal: Flat Sapphire glass AR coated
  • Exhibition Caseback: Sapphire glass AR coated 
  • Water Resistance: 100m / 10atm
  • Crown: Screw Down
  • Case: Choice of Stainless steel 316L in Stainless Steel, IP Vintage Gunmetal or IP Vintage Rose Gold
  • Dial: Choice of White on Blue, Blue on White and Faded Grey
  • Subdial Second: Choice of Disk or Hand
  • Luminous: BGW9 on hands and sub-hands
  • Standard Strap: Custom made Denim calfskin leather (Choice of Grey or Blue) with white stitching
  • Buckle: Matching buckle colour to the case
  • Limited edition: 30 pieces for each dial per case

As this is a prototype version some changes are to be expected. Most of the minor niggles with the watch have been addressed thanks to early feedback on the design. I don’t think it’s necessary to go into all the changes, which mostly amount to fine tuning details and will no doubt be covered in the campaign itself when it goes live.  The key ones to mention are a larger hole on the sub dial disc to make it more legible and the internal bezel will change slightly to improve its index alignment. A rendering of the new internal bezel is shown below.

Overall it’s an impressive package. The ETA Valjoux 7750 Automatic is a step away from the mecha-quartz movements usually offered in micro brand chronos. It’s a movement with a good pedigree, having been used by the likes of  Hamilton, IWC, Breitling, and Omega over the years.

The Jubileon Superellipse Chrono launches on Kickstarter on 5 April 11PM (Singapore) / 4PM (London) / 11AM (New York & Toronto) / 8AM (Los Angeles) / 2AM (Sydney).

USD799 with a free additional strap and free worldwide shipping for the first 48 hours. After that, USD799 with a single strap and USD30 worldwide shipping.